Boat Tour Around the Skelligs – Blog #10

Okay so here’s the thing, today we’re leaving for our last group excursion to Galway and I figured I should write this post before any more time passes and I forget everything (plus I’ll probably want to write about Galway and I don’t wanna get too backed up). Anyway, this post is about the most fun thing we’ve done in this country, and I don’t know if anything is going to top it at this point. Now that I’ve hyped it up a bit, let’s get into it.

As mentioned in the previous blog, I planned a mini holiday to County Kerry. The first big trip we had was to Dingle out of Killarney, but we then went to a different hostel in Cahersiveen which arranged boat trips to the Skelligs. The hostel itself was really nice – I got a single room, which was the best decision I’ve ever made. The people that ran it were super helpful and recommended walks and restaurants and anything else we could need. The day we arrived it was too late to go out on the water, so we planned to do that the next day and went on a long walk and had a nice meal instead.

The next day, we woke up early and had a nice breakfast, served at the hostel. We were then collected at the hostel and brought to Portmagee, where the tours began. When we got there we had some time to kill before the boats went out, so we walked around for a bit. Eventually we were told we could board the boat, and a short while later we were out on the open water. It’s been a really long time since I’ve been on a boat and I didn’t know how I’d feel about it, but I LOVED it. For the first half of the ride to our destination, I just sat and enjoyed it. As we were getting closer to the rocks, we were able to see some dolphins. They were swimming along the boat, and I somehow managed to get a halfway decent picture of them.

After the dolphin sighting, we were only minutes away Skellig Michael, the bigger of the two Skelling Islands. Since it was still early in the season we were not permitted to actually walk on the island, but we went all around it and got some great pictures. The main reason I wanted to do this was because normally this is where you can see some puffins. Unfortunately, I didn’t see any puffins on the island, and although I did see some flying around or sitting in the water I couldn’t manage to get any good pictures.

When we were almost done going around the first island, Kelly and I had to switch boats for some reason? Honestly, I still have no idea why that happened, but the second boat did seem a little nicer (I think). The seats were more comfortable and there were fewer people so we all had more room. We then went around the second island and although it wasn’t as cool looking as the first one, we did end up seeing a pod of seals – which is always a plus.

We then began the trip back, and I ended up “driving” the boat (I could not for the life of me find the correct term, so we’re just gonna go with driving). This is a really short moment but I want to remember it so I’m gonna talk about it. I was just standing there and the guy “driving” called me over and asked if I could steer while he fixed something on the boat. That’s it. I was there for all of like seven seconds but it was still cool. I turned around with a huge smile on my face and saw Kelly laughing, as well. I realize this is a ‘you had to be there’ kind of moment but it was just so random and funny.

We continued on our way, and then some crazy things started happening. There were a lot of birds flying around, just as on the way out, but then they started flying straight down into the water. It was so bizarre just seeing a bunch of birds diving straight down, but then the “pilot” ((?) again, I don’t know boat terms) said that means there’s a whale somewhere in the vicinity. We slowed down and just drifted around for a while, and we ending up seeing more dolphins and a whale. I don’t really know what to say, it was incredible at the time and I still can’t really think of the words to describe it. It was just really special and something I’m glad I saw.

Shortly after that, we were back at the dock, and after waiting around we were given a ride back to Cahersiveen. We grabbed something for lunch and went back to the hostel where we ate and played some board games. A day like that really takes a lot out of you; I think we were on the water for about three hours, plus the waiting around before and after the actual tour. It didn’t help that I probably got a little too much sun, but it was worth it. That was definitely the most thing I have experienced so far, and now the bar is set extremely high for the next month. Fortunately, there is a lot planned and an incredible amount of potential for greatness in the next month. Stay posted 🙂  – Cassidy

Pics from the Skelligs

One thought on “Boat Tour Around the Skelligs – Blog #10

  1. Wow!!! That was so cool! I just heard that skellig was in Star Wars! I could just picture your face after driving the boat!!! Great job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

