So Many Castles… – Blog #8

I know, I know… another late blog. I’m sorry. To be honest, this day was just really hard to put into words. It was a fun, adventure-packed day with lots of cool destinations, so I don’t know why it was so difficult. But, better late than never as the saying goes, so here it is, the much anticipated Blarney Stone blog.

On the 15th of April, we went on our third group excursion to the southern part of the country. Our first stop was the Rock of Cashel, where we were allowed to explore on our own for a bit and were shown a short video explaining the history behind it. There wasn’t too much to see, so a short while later we left to go to the Cahir Castle. We were taken on a tour of the castle and again given a brief history lesson, after which we could walk around the castle on our own. This castle seemed smaller and was more empty compared to other ones we have seen, so there isn’t a super lot to say about it. After the castle, we had lunch at a restaurant across the street and went into some of the shops.

When everyone was fed and had finished their souvenir shopping, we got on the bus to finally go to the Blarney Castle. This was definitely the best and most interesting stop of the day. Unfortunately, our time here got cut short so we were a little limited as to what we could see. We obviously had to climb to the top of the castle to see the Blarney Stone (although I skipped kissing it), which took a while since the stairs going up were so narrow and scary. We also got to go on a short walk around the grounds on a nature trail, where we found and explored a small cave along the way. We continued walking the trail for awhile, but we eventually turned around because we wanted to go and find the poison gardens and the waterfall. We were able to find the gardens, but we ran out of time before we could get to the waterfall. It was really disappointing because we could have easily spent half the day on the grounds and still not have seen it all, so the fact that we had less than 2 hours was a huge bummer.

At this point in the day everyone was hungry again, so we stopped for dinner along the way and soon after we were heading back to Dublin. I really enjoyed all of our stops, even though it turns out I’m not a huge castle person. Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate them and like to walk through them, but after ten minutes or so I’m ready to move on. Anyway, it was a great day and we saw a lot, plus we went to some of the most well-known places in the country.

I know this post was pretty short and lacking in the details department, but I could potentially be posting every day for the next week… which I think makes up for it? I haven’t decided yet, but I have a bunch of fun things planned and I think the best way to share it all would be to post after each day’s adventure. That being said, please don’t give up on my blogs just yet. Cool stuff is coming. I promise. Thanks for sticking with me – Cassidy

One thought on “So Many Castles… – Blog #8

Leave a Reply

